Teacher with students in the classroom

Board of Trustees

Barnhart School is a fully-accredited, non-profit school which operates as a part of the Santa Anita Church Corporation. The school is governed by a Board of Trustees, which includes current and alumni parents, community members, and a representative from the Santa Anita Church Board of Trustees. Members are elected by the Board of Trustees for a three-year term, and can be re-elected for one additional three-year term.

The Board is responsible for long-range strategic planning, the financial sustainability of the School, adherence to the School’s mission and philosophy, and governance of policy. The Head of School is responsible for school leadership including hiring and supervision of staff, community relations and resources, instructional programs, fiscal and operational oversight.

The 2020-21 Trustees include:

President, Augustine May
Vice-President, Shonte Tucker
Secretary, Claudia Rice
Treasurer, Jonathan Boggs

Members at large:
Dawn Blackman
Paul Catherwood
Kathi Nicol
Diane Soriano
Yosufi Tyebkhan
Santa Anita Church representative:

Nancy Merrill


If you would like to reach out to any of Board Members or you can reach them at barnhartboard@barnhartschool.org